The False Prince by Jennifer A. Nielsen

Summary: Sage has been selected — which should be great because it means he gets to leave the orphanage, but it’s not as great as he’d have hoped. He’s now trapped under the watchful eye of Conner — a nobleman who has taken Sage and three other orphans to force them into competition with each other. In order to stay useful, and alive, Sage must prove that he is the best option of the orphans to impersonate the long-lost prince. However, Sage isn’t willing to do this without putting up a fight along the way. 

Review: I want to take a second at the start to talk about how I classified this novel, or, rather, the challenge I had with that. The genre was super vague. Was it fantasy? Adventure? Mystery? This is one of few novels where I really couldn’t neatly classify it into one category. There were qualities of all three of those genres (and even some romance, but it definitely wasn’t that). The whole vibe FELT like fantasy, but there weren’t a lot of fantastic elements. It was a fictional kingdom, but there was no magic or anything. I did ultimately land on fantasy, but it was a big toss-up in my mind. 

None of that is really important to the story, though. What is important is Sage! The protagonist and narrator. I loved him. He was so much fun. He was funny, sarcastic, biting, unreliable, and authentic. So many great qualities that EASILY made him one of my favorite characters of 2023, if not of all time. 

Just like I loved Sage, I also really enjoyed Conner as the antagonist. He had a lot of ambiguity surrounding him and his intentions and motivations. I honestly loved that. The big reveal at the very end about him being behind the murders of the royals was so well done. Did I expect it? Partially. But did I also doubt it? Yes. That’s what makes a fun twist!

There was a subplot that I didn’t care for, though, and that was the romance between Sage and Imogen. It was unnecessary. I mean, it was fine, but not a necessity at all. I will say I’m curious about how the rest of the series will go with regards to Imogen and the betrothed princess (Amarinda), but really that entire plotline could’ve been left out and I would’ve been totally content. 

Another quick element that I didn’t love was when Sage was chosen to impersonate the prince based on one fact: He could roll a coin on his fingers! This was dumb. Dumb dumb dumb. This trick of his had been mentioned maybeeeee once before in the story, and then it was forgotten. The fact that THIS was what allowed him to win made the rest of the story and the trials feel so pointless!

That was, until the plot twist at the end when we find out Sage is actually the real Prince Jaron! The chapters showcasing his master escape and the events thereafter were excellent. They truly were the best chapters of the book. I had suspected that Sage was Jaron, but I never really thought it was possible due to how would he not know he was the prince. That felt bizarre. However, when it was revealed that Sage had been lying to US the whole time, my jaw dropped. Top tier writing choice that I’ve never really seen replicated before. It was the ultimate unreliable narrator. 

I also found the pacing of this story to be excellent! There was basically never a dull point in the book. I particularly loved the short chapters! They were so nice to help me move quickly through the book, and they kept me motivated to “read one more” (or five more). The action was practically nonstop, too. At any point where it felt like it was going to get boring, the next chapter immediately switched it up, and the excitement started once again! I loved that.

Honestly, when I finished the book, I just sat in a euphoric state. I was left so fulfilled by the amazing story that had been told. I really, genuinely, truly loved it.

Recommended reader: Anyone who likes:

  • Fantasy
  • Elements of mystery
  • Elements of romance
  • Adventure
  • Royalty
  • Stolen identities
  • Stories about friendship
  • Plot twists
  • Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Discussion Questions:

  • Describe Tobias and Roden. What are their personalities like? What qualities do they have that would make them good kings? Why, ultimately, are each of them not chosen for the role? How did each of the boys react to this news?
  • Why was Sage drawn to Imogen? What drew Imogen to Sage? Do you think she will ever be able to forgive him for lying to her? Why or why not?
  • Explain Conner’s Grand plan from start to finish. How was he involved with all of the tragedies the royal family experienced? What was his plan with the orphans? Was he successful? Why or why not?
  • Think about Conner’s three servants: Mott, Cregan, and Errol. What kind of people are each of them? Are they more like Conner, or more like Jaron. How so?
  • What clues foreshadowed Sage’s true identity? How did Mott figure it out? What might have happened if Conner found out Sage’s true identity before he was ready to reveal it?
  • Why did King Eckbert decide not to bring Prince Jaron back to the castle with him? Was it an easy decision for the king? Why or why not? How did this decision make the prince feel afterwards? Is the king a better father, or a better ruler? Explain.
  • Sage is an unreliable narrator, meaning he can’t be trusted. What unreliable things does Sage tell you, the audience, throughout the story? How does having Sage as the narrator impact your understanding of the story and your experience of reading it? How would it have been different if Conner were the narrator?
  • Who do you think is Sage’s biggest threat to remaining King Jaron? Why? Who do you think was his greatest ally in getting there? Do you think he would have been successful without their help?
  • What experiences do Roden, Tobias, and Sage have living as orphans that can help them in winning the competition? Are there any skills they’ve learned that will help them be a good ruler?
  • The possibility of war lays the foundation for this novel. Explain the consequences if Veldergrath gets the throne. Why is civil war a possibility? What are the major conflicts that could result in war?

Specifics of the book:

  • Genre: Fantasy
  • Lexile Level: 710L
  • Accelerated Reader Level: 5.1 (12 pts)
  • Content Level: 7th
  • Pages: 342
  • Controversial Issues: Violence 

Leave a comment